2016 Award Recipient Verna Reynolds Sellers, MD, CMD

2016 Award Recipient Verna Reynolds Sellers, MD, CMD
Verna Reynolds Sellers, MD, CMD; Paul Katz, MD, CMD

About Verna Reynolds Sellers, MD, CMD

When the James Pattee Award for Excellence in Education was first established, Verna Sellers is precisely the kind of leader it was designed to honor. She is a teacher, a mentor, a trusted colleague, and has an insatiable thirst for learning.

Eternally energetic and optimistic, Dr. Sellers says “yes” when others might say “no” or “maybe.” She is always willing to devote more time to the care of her patients, the practice of post-acute and long-term care medicine, the education of the interdisciplinary team, and her professional organization—AMDA. Over the years, she has been a delegate and parliamentarian for the House of Delegates, chair for the Advanced Curriculum, and a member of almost every AMDA committee there is. She’s made dozens of presentations at AMDA conferences and other national and regional programs.

Dr. Sellers loves her work. She has dozens of inspirational stories about her patients. She has inspired many, many people to careers in geriatrics and to make quality, compassionate care a part of daily life.

Past Recipients of the James Pattee Education Award

2015 Jonathan Evans, MD, MPH, CMD
2014 Heidi White, MD, MHS, MEd, CMD
2013 Leslie S. Libow, MD, CMD
2012 Paul Katz, MD, CMD
2011 John E. Morley, MB, BCH
2010 Cari Levy, MD, PhD, CMD
2009 Cheryl L. Phillips MD, CMD, AGSF
2008 Leonard Gelman, MD, CMD
2007 Daniel L. Swagerty, MD, MPH, CMD
2006 Catherine Kiley, DO, CMD
2005 David Brechtelsbauer, MD, CMD
2004 Janice Knebl, DO, CMD
2003 Michael Maddens, MD, CMD
2002 Jonathan Musher, MD, CMD
2001 Alva Baker III, MD, CMD
2000 David A. Smith, MD, FAAFP, CMD
1999 Larry Lawhorne, MD, CMD
1998 Steven A. Levenson, MD, CMD
1997 James Pattee, MD, CMD