2017 Medical Director of the Year Award – Joshua Schor, MD, CMD

Joshua Schor, MD, CMD; Paul Katz, MD, CMD
Joshua Schor, MD, CMD; Paul Katz, MD, CMD

About Joshua Schor, MD, CMD

Identifying one individual to honor as Medical Director of the Year is challenging. I talk to practitioners every day who are deserving of recognition for their commitment, passion, and leadership. This year’s recipient, Joshua Schor, MD, CMD, medical director of Daughters of Israel in West Orange, NJ, and senior medical director for Optum Complex Care Management, has all of these qualities and more.

One story epitomizes his dedication. During a recent snowstorm, Dr. Schor got up at 4 am. He wanted to be at his facility early in case any staff couldn’t make it in and he had to help feed residents at breakfast. While everyone managed to get to work, he said, “I love feeding residents. Part of being a good leader is a willingness to roll up your sleeves and help out where you can.”

Clearly, Dr. Schor is an active, involved medical director. In 2014, he established an interdisciplinary wound care team, which put into place new protocols and equipment, as well as creating a liaison with an external wound specialist. As result, the facility’s wound numbers showed improvement, and staff have seen dramatic improvement in the healing of complex wounds. Dr. Schor also played a leadership role in creating a separate 60 bed Post-Acute Care Center at Daughters of Israel, which opened in 2009. He is deeply involved in staff education—from one-on-one mentoring to leading in-service programs and special projects. Under his leadership, Daughters of Israel participated in a national cohort to reduce catheter-associated urinary tract infections.

As a result, the center has achieved a 0% CAUTI rate. Dr. Schor also created, with local grant support, the Long-Term Care Humanities curriculum called Caring Conversations which he will present later today. Dr. Schor is the author of the book, “The Nursing Home Guide: A Doctor Reveals What You Need to Know About Long-Term Care.”

It is an honor to present the 2017 Medical Director of the Year Award to Dr. Joshua Schor.

Previous Award Winners

2016 David A. LeVine, MD, CMD
2015 Patricia A. Chace, MD, CMD
2014 Sandra Liliana Oakes, MD CMD
2013 Rocco Vivenzio, MD, CMD, Penfield, NY
2012 Noel DeBacker, MD, CMD
2011 Sabine von Preyss-Friedman, MD, CMD
2010 Robert Schreiber, MD, CMD
2009 Rebecca L. Ferrini MD, MPH, CMD
2008 J. Kenneth Brubaker, MD, CMD
2007 Timothy Malloy, MD, CMD