In 2016 the Foundation Board of Directors voted to create a Development Committee in order to raise sufficient funds to provide financial resources for the programs and services that AMDA-The Society for Post-Acute & Long-Term Care Medicine and its affiliates have identified, including fellowships and grants. The Development Committee is critical to the success of our efforts to help serve the needs of the Society and to be more robust in its programming.


2019 Development Committee is chaired by J. Kenneth Brubaker, MD, CMD


Dr. Brubaker Bio

J. Kenneth Brubaker, MD, CMD, currently serves as the Chair of the Foundation’s Development Committee and Board of Directors. He has served as Chief Medical Director of the Pennsylvania Department of Aging (PDA) and the Office of Long Term Living (OLTL) from September 2010 until September 2014. During that time, he worked closely with PDA and OLTL developing the Preventable Serious Adverse Events (PSAE) program for PA nursing homes that accept Medicaid dollars. He has served as the Past-President of Pennsylvania’s Society of Post-Acute and LTC Medicine and the AMDA Board of Directors. He has served as the medical director for numerous long-term care facilities, CCRCs and hospices. He was co-founder of the Lancaster General Geriatric Fellowship Program in 2000 and continues to participate in the fellowship’s educational programs.

Campaign: Annual Appeal, Chair:  Matthew Wayne, MD, CMD



Campaign: Board of Directors, Chair:  Barbara Resnick, PhD, CRNP



Campaign: Corporate Giving, Chair: David Smith, MD, CMD (left), James Lett, MD, CMD (right)

smith lett


Dr. Smith Bio

David A. Smith MD, CMD is a Past President of AMDA-The Society for Post-Acute/Long-Term Care Medicine now serving a 2-year term as the Foundation’s Chairman of the Corporate Giving campaign, to recruit and serve the membership of our Industry Advisory Board. Dr. Smith has a long history in the Society as an advocate for ongoing responsible and ethical communication with the pharmaceutical and durable medical equipment Industry.

He has served as a State President of South Dakota and Texas AMDA Chapters; member of the JAMDA’s Editorial Board; and Chairman for both the Education Committee and the Medical Director Certification program. He is the recipient of the distinguished James Pattee Award for Excellence in Education and a special AMDA award as a Pioneer in the Development of Certification in Long-Term Care.

He practices as a Consulting Geriatrician in Brownwood Texas and serves on the formulary committee for a national pharmacy supplier. He has contributed numerous books, book chapters and journal articles on geriatric pharmacology and clinical geriatrics.


Campaign: Grants, Chair:  Barbara Resnick, PhD, CRNP (left), Paul Katz, MD, CMD (right)

 resnick katz  

Campaign: Major Gifts, Chair: Keith Krein, MD, CMD


Campaign: Planned Giving, Chair: J. Kenneth Brubaker, MD, CMD (left) & Keith Rapp, MD, CMD (right)


Campaign: State Chapters, Chair: Mary Evans, MD, CMD


10500 Little Patuxent Parkway
Suite 210
Columbia, MD 21044
Phone: 410-992-3134